Adrian Boult, London Symphony Orchestra – Elgar: Enigma Variations – Vaughan Williams: Fantasia On Greensleeves (2011 – Remaster) (1971/2012) [HDTracks 24-96]

Adrian Boult, London Symphony Orchestra – Elgar: Enigma Variations – Vaughan Williams: Fantasia On Greensleeves (2011 – Remaster) (1971/2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 43:26 minutes | 855 MB | Genre: Classical
Official Digital Download – Source: | @ Warner Classics/Erato

This electrifying collection features a selection of classical masterworks from legendary composers Elgar and Williams. Sir Adrian Boult elicits a performance from the London Symphony Orchestra that is beautifully played, technically assured and exquisitely detailed. The acclaimed conductor is widely considered to be one of Elgar and William’s finest interpreters. This is an essential set for any music lover’s collection.


Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872-1958)
1 Fantasia on Greensleeves 4:41 AIFF 96/24 Album only
2 English Folk Song Suite: I. March (Seventeen Come Sunday) 2:52
3 English Folk Song Suite: II. Intermezzo (My Bonny Boy) 2:52
4 English Folk Song Suite: III. March (Folk Songs from Somerset) 3:03
Edward Elgar (1857-1934)
Variations on an Original Theme, Op.36 ‘Enigma’
5 Theme (Andante) 1:31
6 I. C.A.E. (the composer’s wife) (L’istesso tempo) 1:43
7 II. H.D.S.-P. ( Hew David Steuart-Powell) (Allegro) 0:46
8 III. R.B.T. (Richard Baxter Townshend) (Allegretto) 1:27
9 IV. W.M.B. (William Meath Baker) (Allegro di molto) 0:28
10 V. R.P.A. (Richard Penrose Arnold) (Presto) 1:53
11 VI. Ysobel (Isabel Fitton) (Andantino) 1:12
12 VII. Troyte (Troyte Griffith) (Presto) 0:57
13 VIII. W.N. (Winifred Norbury) (Allegretto) 1:42
14 IX. Nimrod (A. J. Jaeger) (Moderato) 3:53
15 X. Intermezzo: Dorabella (Dora Penny) (Allegretto) 2:52
16 XI. G.R.S. (George Robertson Sinclair) (Allegro di molto) 0:58
17 XII. B.G.N. (Basil G. Nevinson) (Andante) 2:20
18 XIII. Romanza: * * * [Lady Mary Lygon] (Moderato) 2:33
19 XIV. Finale: E.D.U. (the composer) (Allegro) 5:43

London Symphony Orchestra
Sir Adrian Boult, conductor

About the Mastering
Four engineers at Abbey Road Studios in London have remastered these historic EMI recordings from their original analogue sources for release in pristine hi-def. Between them, Simon Gibson, Ian Jones, Andy Walter and Allan Ramsay have many years of experience remastering archive recordings for EMI and other record labels. The process always starts with finding all of the records and tapes in EMI’s archive in London and comparing different sources and any previous CD reissues. We consult each recording’s job file, which contains notes about the recording made by the engineer and producer. For example, this sometimes explain why there is more than one set of tapes to choose from. All of the tapes are generally in good condition and we play them on our Studer A80 π inch tape machine, after careful calibration of its replay characteristics.

In order to have the best digital remastering tools at our disposal for the remastering, we transfer from analogue to the digital domain at 96 KHz and 24-bit resolution using a Prism ADA-8 converter and capture the audio to our SADiE Digital Audio Workstation.

Simon Gibson, January 2012