Earth, Wind & Fire – Spirit (1976/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96kHz  | Time – 00:36:18 minutes | 785 MB | Genre: R&B, Soul, Funk
Official Digital Download – Source: Q0buz | © Columbia Records
Recorded: April–May 1976, Sunset Sound Studios, Hollywood

Spirit is the seventh studio album by Earth, Wind & Fire, released in 1976 on Columbia Records. The album reached number 2 on the Billboard Pop and R&B Albums Chart and has been certified double platinum in the US by the RIAA. Charles Stepney died during the sessions for Spirit, and Maurice White took over fully the arranging and production duties for the band.

With That’s the Way of the World having enjoyed multi-platinum success, Earth, Wind & Fire had a lot to live up to when the time came for another studio project. And the soul powerhouse didn’t let anyone down (either commercially or creatively) on the outstanding Spirit, which boasted hits ranging from the optimistic “On Your Face” and the passionate funk classic “Getaway” to the poetic ballad “Imagination.” Philip Bailey is as charismatic as ever on “Imagination” and the gorgeous title song. Maurice White’s message and vision (an interesting blend of Afro-American Christianity and Eastern philosophy) was as positive and uplifting as ever, and as always, EWF expressed this positivity without being Pollyanna-ish or corny. And even if one didn’t take EWF’s calls for unity, hard work, self-respect, and faith in God to heart, they had no problem with their solid grooves. –AllMusic Review by Alex Henderson

1 Getaway 3:47
2 On Your Face 4:34
3 Imagination 5:17
4 Spirit 3:12
5 Saturday Nite 4:03
6 Earth, Wind & Fire 4:41
7 Departure 0:27
8 Biyo 3:38
9 Burnin’ Bush 6:48

Vocals – Maurice White, Philip Bailey, Verdine White
Piano – Larry Dunn, Jerry Peters
Organ – Larry Dunn
Moog synthesizer – Larry Dunn
Guitar – Johnny Graham, Al McKay
Bass – Verdine White
Congas – Philip Bailey
Kalimba – Maurice White
Timbales – Maurice White
Drums – Fred White, Ralph Johnson, Maurice White
Percussion – Fred White, Ralph Johnson, Al McKay, Andrew Woolfolk, Verdine White, Philip Bailey, Harvey Mason
Saxophone – Don Myrick, Andrew Woolfolk
Trombone – Charles Loper, George Bohanon, Louis Satterfield
Bass Trombone – Lew McCreary
Trumpet – Charles Findley, Michael Harris, Oscar Brashear, Steve Madaio
French horn – Arthur Maebe, David Duke, Marilyn Robinson, Sidney Muldrow
Tuba – Tommy Johnson
Concertmaster – Charles Veal
Harp – Dorothy Ashby
Cello – Dennis Karmazyn, Harry Shlutz, Marie Fera, Ronald Cooper
Viola – Barbara Thomason, David Campbell, Denyse Buffum, James Dunham, Lynn Subotnick, Marilyn Baker, Paul Polivnick, Rollice Dale
Violin – Asa Drori, Carl La Magne, Haim Shtrum, Harris Goldman, Joy Lyle, Ken Yerke, Sandy Seemore, Winterton Garvey


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *